Eating Disorders – Teenage magazines.

I have two teenage daughters who both feel under pressure to be stick thin. 
They buy magazines aimed at young teenage girls which use ads depicting well
known super thin models.  As a parent this really concerns me.  I believe that
such magazines should be promoting healthy eating rather than suggest what body
shape is the best (in their opinion).  However, I have found that peer pressure
can also be a factor.  Neither of my children are over weight and yet so called
friends have called one of them fat! It is time we started educating this
younger generation and my very small way of fighting back is not buying the
magazines in questions and reasurring my children that they are beautiful and
loved whatever their shape or size!!
DJ

Leave a Reply

