Ten thousand views.

Today has to be some sort of celebration as our page views pass the ten thousand mark.  Now onto twenty thousand!

One Response to “Ten thousand views.”

  1. Andrew Pugh Says:

    It is nice to see that this resource is being widely used for information. Ten thousand views is quite something, especially as the web-blog hasn’t been running that long really.

    It’s a shame that more people aren’t submitting comments, but I guess that’s a reflection of the stigma of mental illness that still widely exists in society. It’s quite difficult as I feel a lot of this is very underground and not necessarily overt. Quite a lot of parallels with racism, homophobia and other forms of discrimination, and really difficult for people experiencing a ‘double whammy’ of discrimination.

    I think the term ‘Mental Health Problem’ is quite an interesting term. Who’s problem is it exactly? I like the analogies with physical illness that you wouldn’t call someone suffering from cancer ‘cancered’, so why are people experiencing mental health problems termed things like ‘nutter, psycho, loony, etc.’? Is it a failure to accept that it’s not a case of ‘us & them’, but more a case of ‘us’.

    If a quarter of the population suffer mental health problems at any one time (and we’re not talking the same people the year afterwards), it really shows that people can experience meaningful recovery. What then is the benefit of stigmatising people experiencing mental distress? Is it the fear that ‘we’ could be ‘one of them’? Is that too frightening to accept? Admittedly we all have the possibility of contracting cancer, heart disease and other serious physical health issues in our lives, but we don’t generally worry about this. Is it an extension of this, coupled with the fact that most people are poorly informed about mental health and mental illness?

    I would just like to leave a short poem by Protestant Pastor and Social Activist, Martin Niemöller:

    “When the Nazis came for the communists,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a communist.

    When they locked up the social democrats,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a social democrat.

    When they came for the trade unionists,
    I did not speak out;
    I was not a trade unionist.

    When they came for the Jews,
    I remained silent;
    I wasn’t a Jew.

    When they came for me,
    there was no one left to speak out.”

    What do you think? I know there’s someone out there and I’m not being paranoid. Out of ten thousand people I’m sure someone will have the courage to speak out?

    Maybe I should lead by example? I am ‘one of them’. Stigma isn’t my problem it’s someone else’s. For me, life’s too short to worry about what others think. Live it to the best of your ability. Try to enjoy it. It doesn’t last forever.

    Kind regards,

    Andrew Pugh
    Senior Mental Health Development Officer
    Gwent Association of Voluntary Organisations (GAVO)

Leave a Reply

