Never make the same mistake twice (via In The Fringes)

I like this post because it helps me understand how an individual who has experienced a long period of restriction in a wheelchair may come to perceive the world around them.

The hospital appointment on Thursday went extraordinarily well. It turns out I was the only one that had any reservations about my wheelchair. It made me rethink my own approach to disability. I'm self-conscious about the wheelchair. I've gotten comfortable with using it locally where I know it's accessible, but taking it when visiting an unfamiliar place is still nerve wracking, particularly when I know it's not going to be that accessible. I of … Read More

via In The Fringes

Leave a Reply

